Out of the South and into the City

Sweet, Salt, and Summer

I know I just did a post about food but too bad. I want to take a quick minute to talk about my all time favorite fruit – watermelon.

There is nothing as refreshing as cold watermelon on a hot summer day. It’s sweet, it’s juicy, it’s amazing.

Recently, I came across an article in Woman’s Health Magazine that highlights a few alternatives to plain watermelon. I was immediately intrigued.

So, on my way home, I picked up a cup of precut watermelon. By the time I got home, half of the cup had been consumed (oops) but I still had enough to test out the grilled watermelon skewers.

I put about 2 teaspoons of olive oil and some sea salt into the cup and shook the mixture. Then I tried a chunk before putting on the grill… DELICIOUS!

The olive oil and salt combined with the cold sweetness created a pairing of flavors that was a surprise and delight. Next time, I won’t even waste my time with the grill. Cooking the fruit was an interesting twist but it took away from the appeal of eating watermelon which is the have a cold shock on a hot summer day.

Image

Bring it to your next picnic or try it as a snack! If you like sweet and salty combos as much as I do, you will not be disappointed.

One comment on “Sweet, Salt, and Summer

  1. Mimi Diamond
    June 26, 2013

    Great writing & interesting way to create a sweet & salty combo!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
