Out of the South and into the City

Yoga really Works.

This morning I found myself upside down tuning out the sounds of construction on Broadway. A week and a half ago that was not the case.

That’s because a week and a half ago I went back to yoga class for the first time in months.

One of the major issues I noticed after an extended hiatus from yoga, was my inability to stay “in the moment”. Workouts are always a great way to put everything aside and focus on yourself for an hour or so. I am usually pretty bad at that but yoga has always been an especially effective way to quiet the mind.

My mind, however, was not quiet at all. I was frustrated with my lack of flexibility, distracted by all the skilled yogis and worried about am million other things in my life. It made me realize how badly I needed regular yoga classes back in my life.

Two classes later, I decided to turn my one week trial at YogaWorks into a full membership. The Soho studio is only two blocks away from my office and the Union Square location is close to my apartment.

It’s been a week and a half and I’ve been to seven classes. I have also seen a HUGE improvement in my flexibility and focus. I still have a ways to go but I am on the right track and I am back into a wonderful weekday morning routine.

*Insert super cool photo of my tripod balance pose here which I do not have due to focusing on my practice. IOU one tripod balance (or headstand!) photo) ; )
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2013 by in Health, Uncategorized, Workouts.
