Out of the South and into the City

Logs after Lunch

As I have been settling in New York and searching for a steady job, I have found myself wearing many hats. I am a freelance graphic designer, freelance fact checker, intern, blogger, writer and, this week, I have also become a runner.

A runner is a british term for an office assistant. I run errands for clients, keep the office clean, set out lunches and make a lot of coffee. I also get to make snacks.

When 3:00p.m. rolls around, it is snack time (unfortunately it is not followed by nap time) and on slow days, the runners make “special snack” (no, not that kind).

So, on my first day in this office, I helped make a childhood classic – ants on a log.

Easy – spread peanut butter on a celery stick, add raisins. WRONG! We decided to get creative. We made five different types on ants on a log.

  1. Elvis log (peanut butter and banana chips)
  2. Dirt on a log (peanut butter and crushed oreo)
  3. Red ants on a log (peanut butter and craisins)
  4. Spicy log (hummus and sriracha sauce)
  5. Hummus log (just hummus)

The oreo logs were a huge hit. What type of log would you have created?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2012 by in Food.
