Out of the South and into the City

Mother Shucker.

Long time, no post. I know.

Not that I should be making excuses, but I have been in the process of moving off of my brother’s couch and into my apartment. It has been a long process, but I was fortunate enough to have the help of my wonderful parents.

As soon as they landed in the city, I took them to Ikea and put them to work. Needless to say, it was a long first day. We rolled to the check out counter with eight pieces of furniture, basically the entire apartment. We didn’t sit down for lunch until about 3p.m.

Even though it was a late lunch and we were all STARVING, the wait was well worth it. We went to The John Dory Oyster Bar and enjoyed a briny feast. It was a perfect way to wind down after dragging boxes through Ikea.

The restaurant is small but very hip. If you are ever craving raw oysters as an after work treat, there is no better place than John Dory’s. The big window looks out onto street or, if the weather is nice, there is an outdoor seating option. They have about six types of oysters along with bar snacks or a full menu if you prefer.

Most of the weekend was dedicated to the move but we did find some time for fun and always managed to find time for food. I will have pictures of the new place soon but for now, I’m back to eating like this…

…and no, this was not my breakfast.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 11, 2012 by in Food.
