Out of the South and into the City

Shin Splints and Yoga Splits

It has been a crazy weekend.

My stay in the NYU dorm has officially ended and I have moved onto my brother’s couch. The space is tight but the pull out couch is comfy and the company is fantastic.

This morning, the three of us went on a family jog. I know, we are so cute. The three mile run would have been perfect if my shin splints hadn’t acted up after mile number one.

Last week, my shins started bothering me. It happens occasionally and it is usually a sign that it’s time to replace my shoes. This time I knew that wasn’t the problem because I had just bought new ones.

About three weeks ago I went to JackRabbit to replace my run down sneakers and left with a brand new pair of Mizuno’s. Ashley had a theory that the new shoes were the problem. She did a little research and found that other people have had similar issues.

Luckily, JackRabbit is amazing. I walked into the store with my Mizuno’s and explained the situation. They looked up my name in the system and apologized for the inconvenience. Then, they got me back on the treadmill to test out some other shoes. I left the store with a brand new pair of Asics Gel-Cumulus 14‘s and four dollars of store credit!

I was really disappointed with my run and frustrated with my injury. Solution? Yoga class.

Ashley and I went over to Equinox on 17th Street for a class with one of her favorite instructors, Kristin McGee. The class was amazing. Instead to chants, oms, and sitars, she played The Beatles, Dave Matthews, and other soft hits.

My favorite thing about yoga classes are the different levels of expertise. It’s really fun to look up and see people that clearly have noodles for muscles. Then, right next to them, there is a person who can barely touch their toes. Kristen did a fantastic job working with all of the yogis. I didn’t feel inadequate when I couldn’t reach my arm around my thigh and balance on one foot (Bird of Paradise pose) but I was excited because my Crow Pose has improved. She is a fantastic instructor and I hope I get to take another one of her classes soon.

After the class I was super relaxed and my frustration had melted away. My muscles are stretched, my shins are iced and I’m ready to start a new week!

One comment on “Shin Splints and Yoga Splits

  1. Ashley (@healthyhappier)
    August 13, 2012

    Love it! I’ll be sure to drag you with me to her class anytime she’s doing a class at Equinox!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2012 by in Shopping, Workouts.
