Out of the South and into the City

Three Hot Beaches

I have been to a lot of beach houses and no matter where you are, they are pretty similar. They usually have a strange arrangement of beds, random decorations and, no matter what you do, there is always sand EVERYWHERE. In my experience, beach houses also have central air conditioning. In fact, in my experience, all homes have central air conditioning.

It turns out I have more to learn about the North than I thought.

For those of you who don’t know or haven’t seen my tan lines, this past weekend I went to Cape Cod for a beach day with Lauren’s family. Lauren’s mother picked us up Friday at 6p.m. to take us to her home in Hopedale Mass.

At about midnight on Friday, Lauren, Tracey and I walked into Lauren’s house. The first thing I noticed was the heat. I assumed the air was broken and didn’t want to be rude so I kept my mouth shut. We walked upstairs to put our bags in Lauren’s room and a blast of cold air greeted us as we opened the door. Phew, at least I wouldn’t have to sleep in the heat.

Lauren showed us to her sister’s bedroom and informed us that someone could sleep there but that room had no air conditioning. What? Tracey and I looked at each other dumbfounded. Then there was the awkward silence. Who would volunteer to sleep in the oven?

All three of us slept in Lauren’s room.

I never knew people lived without central air conditioning. In Ohio, I lived in a dorm that had no air conditioning for a semester but that was a dorm. Who wouldn’t have A/C in their house? Apparently a lot of people.

The next morning we dragged ourselves out of bed and got back into the car for the drive to Cape Cod. We were on the beach at 9a.m. and enjoyed a full eight hours of sun.

Then it was time to head to the beach house to get ready for dinner. Guess what? There were random decorations, a strange arrangement of beds, plenty of sand but NO A/C!

It’s ok, not only did I survive a weekend without air conditioning, I had a WICKED good time ; ) with Lauren’s family. They are a lot of fun (Boston accents and all) and I can’t wait to spend more time with them.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2012 by in Travel.
