Out of the South and into the City

Step Into to My Office

Sometimes I think that I should just be a freelance designer and do all of my work on my own time. Other times I realize how bad the lack of structure might be.

For those of you who don’t know, I am currently working two internships. They are both part time. Mondays and Wednesdays I am in the office from 9-6. Those are my structured days. Tuesdays and Thursdays I have meetings for my other internship but then I am free to do the work on my own time.

Another fun fact about my current lifestyle, I do not own a TV. That was fine while I was spending all of my time in the Woolworth building, but now that the Olympics are on, it is becoming a problem.

This morning I went on a run to Battery Park, did a lifting session at the gym and stopped off at  Trader Joe’s. Then it was time to do some work.

It’s times like this that I miss Athens. My go to spot was Walkers, a bar/coffee shop with big tables and lots of space. It was perfect. You start with coffee and then switch to beer as the clock strikes 5…or 3…or noon. I have been exploring different coffee shops in the city and keep running into the same problems:

  • Too small
  • Too crowded
  • Glass tables (this is a deal breaker when you are trying to use a wireless mouse)
  • Starbucks (sorry, I’d rather go somewhere local)

I just want a place where I can watch the Olympics while I do my work at a decent sized table. Instead of walking around in the heat to find another place with teeny tiny tables I decided to go to the Pizza Pub. Yeah, I know, not a coffee shop but hey, sometimes a beer will do.

So here I am with my big table, beer and the Olympics. It’s such a tough life.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
