Out of the South and into the City

Bridge and Beer

Saturday morning was cool and cloudy, the perfect type of weather for a run. Since the weather felt so good, I went further than my normal route and down to the Brooklyn Bridge.

The bridge was packed with tourists walking across to enjoy to beautiful view. I joined them for part of my run, though it was nearly impossible to make my way through the crowd. The view was great but not worth fighting the crowd. Next time I will avoid the bridge on a Sunday.

As I was heading back down, I got a text from Lauren. Her parents were in town and wanted to take us to lunch. It was really great to meet her family especially because I will be spending next weekend with them at the Cape!

For lunch we went to Tavern on Third, a bar/restaurant close to the dorm. We wanted to find a nice outside spot and most of the other options were way too crowded. Tavern on Third served typical bar food with burgers and salads and such but we got to sit by a big open door and it was quiet enough to enjoy a conversation.  We also discovered a fantastic summer beer while we were there.

The waitress informed us that the representative for Kona was at the bar and would buy a bucket for the table. Free beer? Yes please! The Hawaiian brew did not disappoint. It was light, flavorful and a perfect summer beer. We are all excited to buy some for the beach next weekend.

If you ever see Kona on the menu, try it! I’m sure you will like it as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2012 by in Food, Workouts.
