Out of the South and into the City

Filling the Fridge

I woke up this morning feeling refreshed and ready for a fantastic weekend. I was going to knock a couple of items off my to do list when I opened the fridge and…nothing.

Not even enough grapes to snack on!  I immediately had to change my plans and make sure that my first stop was the grocery store. Then I had another epiphany – the farmers market is open on Fridays!

I love farmers markets and since I moved here I had not taken advantage of the one right around the corner. It was a perfect Friday morning activity.

There we so many beautiful vegetables that I wanted to try…

(What is avocado squash?)

…and plenty of things I had no use for.

I came home with tomatoes, apples, onions, green beans, cabbage, collards, kale and rye bread rounds.

I had never purchased kale before, except one time I bought kale chips (which I will never do again) but I keep hearing about it. I figured I would give it a try. If you have any kale recipes, please let me know! In the mean time, I will enjoy this apple.

4 comments on “Filling the Fridge

  1. toldinvain
    July 27, 2012

    1. salt, pepper, olive oil, and garlic…baked at 400 until crisp and then dunked in ketchup (waaaayyy better than nasty store-bought “chips”)
    2. my favorite: steamed and then drizzled with a mixture of 1 tbsp peanut butter, 1 tbsp soy sauce, red pepper flakes and a bit of water if it needs to loosen up. it is TO DIE!

  2. mimi diamond
    July 27, 2012

    what a gorgious pix of an apple– did u get the avacodo squash

    • megdiamond
      July 27, 2012

      No, wasn’t sure what I would do with it. Maybe next time!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 27, 2012 by in Food, Shopping.
