Out of the South and into the City

Four Shades of Green

Well, it’s Monday afternoon and I have nowhere to be. This morning I woke up at 8:30 for a morning workout in order to try and keep my schedule as normal as possible. When your days are wide open, it’s far too easy to sleep too late and lounge all day.

My morning workout included an outside walk/run, 15 minutes on the stair master and my normal lifting routine. After my workout, I was so excited to go to Trader Joe’s! It’s right next to the Palladium Athletic Facility. Now that I will be spending more time at home, I was eager to fill my fridge with fruit, vegetables and other yummy things to cook this week.

I have also been excited to try out some new protein shake recipes. I have been reading some recipes from Well+Good NYC (if you sign up for their newsletter, they send you smoothies recipes) and want to branch out from my normal banana and peanut butter or berry shakes.

Today my smoothie included honeydew, cucumber, mint, spinach, almond milk and vanilla whey protein powder. I really should have added some greek yogurt to thicken the shake but besides that, it was delicious and very refreshing on a hot summer day.

Have I ever mentioned how much I love my Magic Bullet blender? I brought it with me to the city because it is small and perfect for one person. I have used in almost everyday. If you are looking for a small blender, this is it. Just don’t expect to make a pitcher of margaritas.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2012 by in Food, Shopping, Workouts.
