Out of the South and into the City

Up in the Clouds

This morning, Allie, Michael and I took a tour of Cloud CIty. Unfortunately, I am not talking about the one in Star Wars.

The Cloud City that I toured was created by Tomás Saraceno and can be found on the roof of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Cameras and phones were not allowed inside of the structure but here are a couple of photos that I took from the outside.

Image

Image

Image

We had to walk through the structure with caution because all of the walls were either plexiglass or mirror. I felt like a moron walking around with my hand in front of me but navigating the giant bubble was worth it for the amazing view at the top.

If you are at the Met and get a chance to go into the Cloud City, I highly recommend it. In a museum filled with such serious works, it’s nice to be able to have a fun, interactive experience.

We walked around a few other exhibits before leaving and I snapped photos of some modern pieces that I hope to use as inspiration for my own designs.

ImageImageImage

This weekend was so much fun but exhausting so now it’s time to get back on schedule and back to work because the book section starts tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
