Out of the South and into the City

So Lucky

The magazine launch project presentations are in two days and the workload is piling on. I spent the entire afternoon hunched over my computer working on designs. However, the morning was a little bit different.

My day started with a 6am workout, berry protein shake and a vist to Lucky magazine. At 9:30am I was in the lobby of the Conde Nast building with about twenty other people from the program.

Image

The tour was amazing. We started off in the fashion closet with all of the teeny tiny clothes. Every time I turned around there was another beautiful piece of clothing staring back at me. It was like walking into your dream closet but not being able to fit into any of the clothes.

Of all the things I saw today, my favorite was seeing an art department in action. There were about seven designers playing on InDesign and a table covered in various spread options. I was looking at the spreads, watching the designers and realized that I could see myself doing this.

I don’t know if you’ve even had a moment like that but it is very exciting. I wanted to hop on to the nearest computer and start looking for design internships.

Even though I am super busy with the project and trying to have fun in the city, I have been constantly trying to figure out exactly what I want to do when the program ends. I originally came here assuming I would take the editorial route, like most people do but lately the design world has been especially appealing.

Seeing the art department at Lucky Magazine made me realize how badly I want to be a magazine designer. I do not have a formal graphic design background but I was the art directory for the University of Georgia’s yearbook and I am currently the art director for my magazine launch project.

If you haven’t seen my work in the yearbook feel free to check it out here. I will also be posting my current project as soon as it is done.

If you have any tips or contacts feel free to let me know!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
