Out of the South and into the City

Snack Attack

It’s almost ten o’clock and I am finally home in my comfys* after a very long but exciting day.

My roommates and I left the apartment at 7:30, giving us plenty of time to find the Woolworth building. When we got into the subway station it was very easy to pick out who else was in the program, you just had to look for young, confused faces, usually in a group of 2-4 people. By the time we got off the 6 train at Brooklyn Bridge, our group of four had expanded to about 20 people.

I had my iPhone out and ready with HopStop directions and Google maps on standby but one of the boys was already leading the way. This was great because I was able to put the phone away and chat with some of my fellow students.

It wasn’t long until we were all settled and listening to introductions.

I learned a lot today, mostly about the publishing industry, but the most useful thing I learned was ALWAYS bring an extra snack. This is good life advice that I probably should know by now. At any point, in any day you should always have some sort of snack handy in case of emergencies. Today I had an emergency situation.

The first day of the program we were told breakfast would be served in the classroom. I assumed this meant an assortment of pastries with coffee on the side so I made sure to have something in my stomach before I left the apartment. I made a delicious berry smoothie and was on my way. To my delight, I was wrong about breakfast. They had fruits, bagels and lox, yogurt, and breakfast burritos. Since I wasn’t very hungry, I had some fruit and coffee and figured I would be fine. We got out early for the lunch break, 11:30 instead of 12 and since I wasn’t starving I decided to use the extra time to go get my NYU id (it’s really annoying when you can’t swipe into your own dorm). Two of my roommates needed their ids too so we bolted off as soon as the class was dismissed.

Everything was smooth but by the time we got back to the Woolworth building we had fifteen minutes to grab lunch and get back upstairs. We took the safe route and went into a Duane Reade to grab some snacks. I grabbed a hummas/pretzel snack pack and a small bag of almonds. I figured this would be enough to hold me over until our 5:30 dinner break but by 4:30 I was hungry.

The worst part was that the 5:30 dinner break never came. At 5:45 we were splitting up into our magazine project groups to start brainstorming and developing our mission statement. When we walked out of the Woolworth building at 7:15 I was getting shaky.

It turned out, I wasn’t the only one in a starving state. Everyone was hungry so half of the group decided to stop off at a diner on the way back to the dorm. Best turkey club I’ve ever had.

So that’s my story for today. I did get my NYU id and was able to swipe into the dorm when I got back.

Todays speakers included:

  • David Zinczenko, Editor-in-Chief, Men’s Health (and author of Eat This, Not That)
  • Cindi Leive, Editor-in-Chief, Glamour
  • Declan Moore, President of Publishing and Digital Media, National Geographic Society
  • Tyler Thoreson, Head of Men’s Creative & Editorial, Gilt Groupe
  • Gregg Hano, CEO, Mag+
  • Pilar Guzman, Editor-in-Chief, Martha Stewart Living
Unfortunately I am not allowed to give details about the talks but I will say that many of them were about looking at magazines as a brand, not a publication. David Zinczenko and Cindi Leive each gave their top ten list of things to know about the industry. Declan Moore, Tyler Thoreson and Gregg Hano were a part of a panel discussion about digital formats and how to incorporate content and commerce. The last talk, given by Pilar Guzman, was about her experience launching a parenting magazine, Cookie.

*comfys – a Diamondism meaning comfortable clothes. Typically when one is wearing comfys they are sporting a tee shirt and gym shorts. If you are my brother, the ideal comfys are “double green” (his favorite green shirt and green shorts).

One comment on “Snack Attack

  1. mimi diamond
    June 5, 2012

    what a day & i love your id photo!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
